SurfaceSeer S
TOF-SIMS

提供高灵敏度的表面分析。

tof-sims-surfaceseer-s-intro
Kore SurfaceSeer S: TOF-SIMS

了解表面化学不再局限于大学的研究实验室,而是对许多大规模生产领域越来越重要;即使是一个简单的脆皮小包装也是一个高度工程化的材料系统,具有多层不同的功能。表面科学仪器通常非常昂贵,需要知识渊博的人员进行操作和解释数据。这意味着工业上对表面科学仪器的收购主要局限于大型公司的大型中央研究实验室。

 

Kore很高兴为您提供解决方案:SurfaceSeer-S是一种价格合理且结构紧凑的系统,用于快速表面化学表征。SurfaceSeer-S被设计为TOF-SIMS系列的价格适中的主力。它是研究样品表面化学成分的理想选择,同样适用于研发或工业质量控制应用。

初级离子枪

该仪器使用5keV Cs+离子束(可选惰性气体Ar+)脉冲,以最大限度地减少连续离子束对表面造成的损伤。离子枪在每100µs TOF周期只有60 ns的脉冲, 因此初级离子束输送的电流比连续输送的少1000倍。一个典型的实验时间为10s,其剂量只相当于几毫秒的连续光束电流。在一个点上进行几分钟的分析才能达到所谓的“静态模拟”极限,即在数据中表面损伤变得清晰可见的点(聚焦和波束电流相关)。尽管离子剂量很低,但TOF分析仪非常高效,这也解释了高的二次离子数据率(通常为5000 c/s,即使在相对较低的离子产率聚合物上)。

 

在需要时,可以增加初级离子电流,并连续打开离子枪,对合适的样品进行溅射清洗。

 

延迟提取

该仪器还采用了一种被称为“延迟提取”的技术来提取产生的二次离子。在这项技术中,初级离子轰击表面并产生具有分析意义的次级离子。在主束脉冲轰击样品后的短时间内,对离子提取场进行脉冲轰击。这不仅可以用于二次离子提取,还可以在离子通过分析器到达检测器时进行二次离子压缩。在一些TOF-SIMS仪器中,主束被压缩或“聚束”,但在这种仪器中,是次级离子聚束。这种延迟提取是为了使相同m/z的二次离子在时间上得到聚焦,从而产生比单独使用长主脉冲(60ns)更好的质量分辨率。

 

电荷中和

使用脉冲离子束/延迟提取组合的优点之一是,在没有离子提取场的情况下,每个TOF循环的周期相对较长。在此期间,低能电子的脉冲(30eV)被指向分析区域。通过这样做,就有可能抵消主离子束轰击绝缘样品时在表面积聚的正电荷的影响。

 

TOF分析仪

该仪器有一个直径150毫米的反射管分析仪,有效飞行总长度(包括飞行管)为2米。这是一个具有真空高精度电阻的双斜坡反射管,在反射管内部有一个可调节的“延迟”电位,该电位被设置为最佳的光谱性能。

 

真空抽气

该仪器有一个独立的机架式真空控制器来控制真空系统。涡轮分子泵用于保持分析室内的真空和样品负载锁定,每个样品负载锁定由一个两级旋转泵支撑。负载锁排气和抽吸是通过真空控制器上的一个手动按钮实现的。高真空计(反向磁控管)随时监测分析室内的压力,用于提供真空联锁保护,当压力超过设定值时关闭高压。

高表面灵敏度1x109 atoms/cm2 (ppm)
质量分辨率>2,500 m/δm (FWHM)
质量范围>1000 amu
质量范围达10,000 amu,带有高质量检测器(可选)
质量准确度± 5 milli amu
分析区域100µm to 1000µm
SIMS正极和负极模式
低能电子枪,用于绝缘体的电荷补偿
表面的元素和分子信息
同位素分析
进行和绝缘样品分析
溅射清洗能力
1分钟分析
从大气中抽出5分钟的样品
提供SIMS数据库
可选的光学显微镜/照相机/监视器
光学观察

光学观察(变焦显微镜,双色照明器,控制器,照相机和彩色监视器)。光学观察对于Surface Seer的“光谱”版本不是必需的,因为Cs +离子探针从样品架中心的可重复位置进行采样。但是,光学观察对于确认样品位置很有用,尤其是在分析人员处理非均质样品的情况下。

 

静态SIMS库

来自SurfaceSpectra的静态模拟模型库第4版是目前可用的最全面的静态模拟模型数据集,涵盖了1000多种材料和1900多种模拟模型光谱,主要是TOF-SIMS数据。该软件还具有峰值搜索工具,允许分析员输入质量峰值,并在库中进行搜索,以识别未知的化合物和材料。

应用领域

由于其表面敏感性只有几个原子层,“S”允许在以下领域对材料进行研究:

  • 表面化学
  • 附着力
  • 分层
  • 可印刷性
  • 表面修饰
  • 等离子治疗
  • 表面污染
  • 痕量分析(表面ppm)
  • 催化
  • 同位素分析
tof-sims-surfaceseer-s-stage
tof-sims-surfaceseer-s-chemical-map
定价与订购

Kore Technology是卓越的飞行时间质谱仪技术中心,并且拥有非常强大的研发能力,所有人员都参与了各种分析仪器开发计划。

 

如有任何疑问,请随时与我们联系。我们提供广泛的产品和服务以满足您的要求。

联系我们
kore-technology-building

Kore SurfaceSeer S TOF-SIMS

Learn about our way of work

The SurfaceSeer S
TOF-SIMS

Providing high sensitivity surface analysis.

tof-sims-surfaceseer-s-intro
The Kore SurfaceSeer S: TOF-SIMS

Understanding surface chemistry is no longer limited to university research labs, but is now increasingly important to many areas of mass-production; even a simple crisp packet is a highly engineered material system with multiple layers having different functions. Surface science instruments have typically been very expensive and require knowledgeable staff to operate them and interpret the data. This meant acquisition of surface science instruments in industry has been mainly confined to the large central research labs of major companies.

 

Kore are delighted to present a solution: an affordable and compact system for fast surface chemical characterisation, the SurfaceSeer S. The SurfaceSeer S is designed to be an affordable workhorse of the TOF-SIMS range. It is ideal for investigating the chemical composition of sample surfaces and is equally at home in R&D or industrial quality control applications.

Primary Ion Gun

The instrument uses a 5keV Cs+ ion beam (optionally inert gas Ar+) that is pulsed to minimise the surface damage that would otherwise be caused by a continuous ion beam. The gun pulses on for only 60ns in every 100µs TOF cycle, and thus the primary beam delivers more than 1,000 times less current than if it were on continuously. A typical experiment time of 10s delivers a dose equivalent to only a few milliseconds of continuous beam current. Several minutes of analysis in a single spot would be required to reach the so called “Static SIMS” limit, the point at which surface damage becomes clearly visible in the data (focus and beam-current dependent). Despite the low ion doses, the TOF analyser is very efficient, and this accounts for the high secondary ion data rates (typically 5000 c/s even on relatively low ion yield polymers).

 

Where required, the primary ion current can be increased and the ion gun turned on continuously and rastered for sputter cleaning of suitable samples.

 

Delayed Extraction

The instrument also employs a technique known as ‘delayed extraction’ for the secondary ions produced. In this technique the primary ions bombard the surface and produce the analytically important secondary ions. A short time after the primary beam pulse has finished bombarding the sample, the ion extraction field is pulsed on. This results not only in secondary ion extraction, but also secondary ion compression as the ions travel through the analyser to the detector. In some TOF-SIMS instruments the primary beam is compressed or ‘bunched’, but in this instrument it is the secondary ions that are bunched. This delayed extraction is set so that the secondary ions of the same m/z are temporally focused to produce better mass resolution than would otherwise be obtained with the long primary pulse (60ns) on its own.

 

Charge Neutralisation

One of the advantages of using a pulsing ion beam/delayed extraction combination is that there are relatively long periods in each TOF cycle when there is no ion extraction field applied. In that period a pulse of low energy electrons (30eV) is directed at the analytical area. By doing this it is possible to neutralise the effect of positive charge that would otherwise build up on the surface as the primary ion beam bombards an insulating sample.

 

TOF Analyser

The instrument has a 150mm diameter reflectron analyser, with a total effective flight-length (including the flight tube) of 2 metres. It is a dual-slope reflectron with in-vacuo high precision resistors, and has an adjustable ‘retard’ potential within the reflectron that has been set for optimum spectral performance.

 

Vacuum Pumping

The instrument has a single rack-mounted vacuum controller that controls the vacuum system. Turbomolecular pumps are used to maintain vacuum in the analytical chamber and the sample load lock, each of which is backed by a 2-stage rotary pump. Load lock venting and pumping is achieved with a single manual button on the vacuum controller. A high vacuum gauge (inverted magnetron) monitors the pressure in the analytical chamber at all times, and is used to provide vacuum interlock protection, shutting down high voltages if the pressure rises beyond a set point.

High Surface Sensitivity1x109 atoms/cm2 (ppm)
Mass resolution >2,500 m/δm (FWHM)
Mass range >1000 amu
Mass range to 10,000 amu with high mass detector (option)
Mass Accuracy± 5 milli amu
Analysis Area100µm to 1000µm
SIMSPositive and Negative Modes
Low energy electron gun for charge compensation of insulators
Elemental and Molecular Information from Surfaces
Isotopic Analysis
Conducting and Insulating sample analysis
Sputter Cleaning capability
1 minute analysis
5 minute sample pump down from atmosphere
SIMS data libraries available
Optional optical microscope / camera / monitor
Optical viewing

Optical viewing (zoom microscope, dichroic illuminator, controller, camera and colour monitor). The optical viewing is not essential with the ‘spectroscopy’ version of the Surface Seer, because the Cs+ ion probe samples from a repeatable position in the centre of the sample holder. However, optical viewing can be useful for confirmation of sample position, especially if the analyst is working with an inhomogeneous sample.

 

Static SIMS library

Static SIMS library version 4 from SurfaceSpectra is the most comprehensive collection of Static SIMS data currently available covering more than 1000 materials and over 1900 SIMS spectra, mainly TOF-SIMS data. The software also has peak searching tools to allow the analyst to input mass peaks and search the library to identify unknown compounds and materials.

Application Areas

Owing to its surface sensitivity of just a few atom layers, the ‘S’ allows studies of materials in the areas of:

  • Surface chemistry
  • Adhesion
  • Delamination
  • Printability
  • Surface modification
  • Plasma treatment
  • Surface contamination
  • Trace analysis (ppm in surfaces)
  • Catalysis
  • Isotopic analysis

 

 

Application Notes
tof-sims-surfaceseer-s-stage
tof-sims-surfaceseer-s-chemical-map
Pricing and ordering

Kore Technology is a centre of excellence in time-of-flight mass spectrometer technology and has a very strong R&D capability in terms of its personnel, all of whom have been heavily involved in a variety of analytical instrumentation development programmes.

 

If you have any questions please feel free to contact us via our online form or telephone us for more information, we offer a wide range of products and services to suit your requirements.

 

If you wish to purchase our products, please contact Kore sales at sales@kore.co.uk, or call +44 (0)1353 653030.

contact us
kore-technology-building