SurfaceSeer I
TOF-SIMS

通过成像和化学绘图提供表面分析。

tof-sims-surfaceseer-i-intro
Kore SurfaceSeer I: TOF-SIMS

SurfaceSeer-I是一个高灵敏度的TOF-SIMS,用于绝缘和导电表面的成像和化学绘图。SurfaceSeer-I是研究表面化学性质的理想之选,同样适用于研发以及工业质量控制应用。

 

SurfaceSeer-I使用与SurfaceSeer-S相同的TOF-MS技术,不同的是配有高亮度、高空间分辨率的25 kV液态金属离子枪(LMIG)作为主要离子源。附加的计算机控制允许在质谱采集过程中对电子枪进行扫描,以便收集化学图像或地图。还提供了用于调整主光束的二次电子探测器。

初级离子枪

高性能液态金属离子束系统(LMIG),旨在为SIMS应用提供一系列离子束。它具有宽广的电流范围,并具有出色的探测能力以及直流或脉冲操作。数字控制可轻松设置喷枪,并提供遥控功能。

 

枪管柱由液态金属离子源和高精度两透镜光学组件组成,包括:

  • 标记和对齐单元
  • 光圈选择,可提供多种输出电流选择(通常为手动,但有电动选项)
  • 可选的质量过滤器,与合金源一起使用
  • 偏转板用于消隐光束
  • 可选脉冲聚束
  • 用于成像的光栅板

 

二次电子检测

对于成像TOF-SIMS系统,必须具有二次电子成像系统。它具有三个主要功能:

 

  • 聚焦初级离子束
  • 为了允许将射束设置为“静止消隐”, 这是一个调整,允许离子束在高速下消隐,同时光束的失真最小(这是TOF-SIMS成像所必需的)
  • 获得离子感应的二次电子图像。后一种功能只能在连续的初级离子束中实现,通常只有在样品的所有分析工作完成时才能实现

 

SED系统包括分析腔内的通道探测器,外法兰上安装SED前置放大器。带有SED控制器的电源单元可用于单独的“样品查看”电子单元。

 

光学观察

在表面分析中,光学观察样品有助于导航和确定后续分析的正确位置。Kore开发了一个具有以下功能的查看系统:

  • 变焦从3 mm 到 400µm视野。。
  • 高放大倍率(<5µm)的高横向光学分辨率。
  • 175毫米的长工作距离非常适合超高真空室,因为在样品附近无法找到相机
  • 安装在70mm OD CF窗口上。
  • 彩色相机安装在显微镜上。
  • 专用彩色监视器显示。
  • 安装在70mm OD CF窗口上的冷双色卤素照明器。
  • 照明和相机的电源

 

样品处理

X, Y, Z高度稳定平台。平台在X和Y轴上的运动约为±10mm,在z方向上的运动范围为2mm。有一个最佳z高度的概念,在该高度上所有光束都是共焦的。将样品表面移至该位置。如果样品的相对厚度大于1mm,则有两种可能性:

  • 样品可以“背面安装”,这意味着样品位于正确高度的面罩后面。可以通过这种方式安装的样品的最大厚度为~5mm(高5 x 宽8 x长 20(mm))
  • 样品“顶部安装”在样品架上,剖面图为1mm(可根据要求加深)。对于顶部安装较厚的样品,可以使用工作台的z高度调节来降低样品架,使样品表面处于正确的高度。

 

样品在2-10分钟内被泵入一个小容量负载锁,然后通过一个简单的向前运动和一个磁性耦合样品引入棒的90°扭转动作进入分析室(通过一个手动闸阀)。多孔或“湿”的样品需要更长的时间才能泵入。

 

延迟提取

该仪器还采用了一种被称为“延迟提取”的技术来提取产生的二次离子。在这项技术中,初级离子轰击表面并产生具有分析意义的次级离子。在主束脉冲轰击样品后的短时间内,对离子提取场进行脉冲轰击。这不仅可以用于二次离子提取,还可以在离子通过分析器到达检测器时进行二次离子压缩。在一些TOF-SIMS仪器中,主束被压缩或“聚束”,但在这种仪器中,是次级离子聚束。这种延迟提取是为了使相同m/z的二次离子在时间上得到聚焦,从而产生比单独使用长主脉冲(60ns)更好的质量分辨率。

 

电荷中和

使用脉冲离子束/延迟提取组合的优点之一是,在没有离子提取场的情况下,每个TOF循环的周期相对较长。在此期间,低能电子的脉冲(30eV)被指向分析区域。通过这样做,就有可能抵消主离子束轰击绝缘样品时在表面积聚的正电荷的影响。

 

TOF分析仪

该仪器有一个直径150毫米的反射管分析仪,有效飞行总长度(包括飞行管)为2米。这是一个具有真空高精度电阻的双斜坡反射管,在反射管内部有一个可调节的“延迟”电位,该电位被设置为最佳的光谱性能。

 

真空抽气

真空泵控制器集成在主仪表架上。两个离子泵在分析室和LMIG源中保持真空。一个涡轮分子泵用于样品负载锁定,背后是一个2级旋转泵。负载锁排气和抽水是通过一个单一的手动按钮实现。高真空计(反向磁控管)随时监测分析室内的压力,用于提供真空联锁保护,当压力超过设定值时关闭高压。

 

静态SIMS库

该仪器将随Surface Spectra Static SIMS库一起提供。该软件具有包含1900多个光谱的质谱库,涵盖了1000多种不同材料的数据。

 

该软件还具有峰值搜索工具,允许分析员输入质量峰值在谱库中搜索,以识别未知的化合物和材料。

高表面灵敏度 1x109 atoms/cm2 (ppm)
导电和绝缘表面
SIMS正离子和负离子模式
质量分辨率使用飞行时间反射管的质谱分析仪> 3000 m / δm (FWHM)
质量范围>1000m/z
质量精度± 5 milli amu
分析空间分辨率≤0.5µm
元素和分子信息
将常见的有机物与元素分离
同位素分析
溅射清洗能力
样品从大气中抽出5分钟
1分钟分析
负担得起的
可扩展的
可用的资料库
使用第二个离子源进行深度分析

LMIG不适合腐蚀凹坑,因此,为了进行SIMS深度剖析,我们使用了第二支离子枪专门用于溅射。

 

通过使用第二个专用离子枪,我们还可以改变溅射离子束的能量。例如,对于几百纳米的浅深度剖面,使用大约1keV的冲击能量将是合适的,而对于更深的剖面,则2-3keV将是合适的。

 

这与XPS和螺旋深度剖析非常相似,因为分析阶段和溅射阶段是分开的。该技术通过反复循环以下步骤来起作用:

 

  • 使用分析枪在小范围内以脉冲束模式执行分析x秒钟,其中x是用户可定义的时间,以获取具有重要统计数据(取决于实验)的数据。
  • 分析停止。
  • 溅射束被打开并在更大的区域上光栅化。样品在连续光束模式下溅射y秒,以去除材料,其中y是用户定义的时间,具体取决于当前和光栅的大小。
  • 关闭溅射枪,为步骤1的下一个重复做好准备。

 

深度剖面中的数据点绘制在每个分析“阶段”的末尾。在“实时”采集时显示一组有限的物种,但运行结束后可以重新展示数据,并可以重新绘制任何物种组合。由于TOF-SIMS中的离子检测是“平行”的,有关每个已记录离子的信息都存储到磁盘中,因此可以做到这一点。

 

氧气泄漏(氧气喷射)

当样品表面有一种天然氧化物时,正二次离子释放会大大增强。如果实验涉及到足够高的离子剂量来剥离自然氧化物,信号就会急剧下降。一个众所周知的解决方案,用于专门的深度剖面模拟仪器,是使用一个氧初级离子束,这导致一个富氧的“改变层”和增强的信号。还有一种情况是,大部分的增强是通过氧离子注入来实现的,通过在样品表面喷射氧气来实现,同时使用一种替代的初级离子束种类,如Ga+或Ar+。因此,我们提供了一个氧气泄漏选项,通过一个精确的泄漏阀,通过靠近样品的毛细管输送氧气,将氧气“喷射”到样品表面。

应用领域

Surface Seer成像版本的应用程序类似于“ S”模型,但是现在成像设施将分析范围扩展到了具有异质性样品的微米尺度:

  • 表面化学
  • 微观结构表面
  • 图案化器件(半导体等)
  • 微米级的故障分析
  • 粉剂
  • 纤维类
  • 多层膜
  • 附着力
  • 分层
  • 可印刷性
  • 表面修饰
  • 等离子体处理
  • 表面污染
  • 痕量分析(表面ppm)
  • 催化
  • 同位素分析
tof-sims-surfaceseer-s-map
tof-sims-surfaceseer-i-instrument
定价与订购

Kore Technology是卓越的飞行时间质谱仪技术中心,并且拥有非常强大的研发能力,所有人员都参与了各种分析仪器开发计划。

 

如有任何疑问,请随时与我们联系。我们提供广泛的产品和服务以满足您的要求。

联系我们
kore-technology-building

The SurfaceSeer I
TOF-SIMS

Providing surface analysis with imaging and chemical mapping.

SurfaceSeerI square
The Kore SurfaceSeer I TOF-SIMS

The SurfaceSeer-I is a high sensitivity TOF-SIMS for imaging and chemical mapping of insulating and conducting surfaces. The SurfaceSeer-I is ideal for investigating the chemistry of surfaces and is equally at home in R&D as well as industrial quality control applications.

 

The SurfaceSeer-I uses the same TOF-MS technology as the SurfaceSeer-S, but is fitted with a high brightness high spatial resolution 25 kV liquid metal ion gun (LMIG) as the primary ion source. Additional computer control allows the gun to be scanned during the mass spectral acquisition so that chemical images, or maps, may be collected. A secondary electron detector is also provided for tuning of the primary beam.

Primary Ion Gun

A high performance liquid metal ion beam system (LMIG) designed to provide a range of ion beams for SIMS applications. It offers a wide current range with fine probe capability and d.c. or pulsed operation. Digital control allows easy set-up of the gun and a provision for remote control is included.

 

The gun column consists of a liquid metal ion source and a high precision two-lens optics assembly, including:

  • Stigmation and alignment units
  • Aperture selection, to allow a wide choice of output current (normally manual, but there is a motorised option)
  • Optional Mass filter, used with alloy sources
  • Deflection plates for blanking the beam
  • Optional Pulse bunching
  • Raster plates for imaging

 

Secondary Electron Detection

For an imaging TOF-SIMS system it is essential to have a secondary electron imaging system. This has three main functions:

  • To focus the primary ion beam
  • To permit the beam to be set for ‘motionless blanking’ – this is a tuning that permits the ion beam to be blanked at high speed with minimal distortion of the beam (necessary for TOF-SIMS imaging)
  • To obtain ion-induced secondary electron images. This latter function can only be achieved with a continuous primary ion beam, and is normally reserved for when all analytical work is complete on a sample

 

The SED system comprises a channeltron detector inside the analytical chamber, with the SED preamplifier mounted on the external flange. A power supply unit with SED controls is made available on a separate ‘sample viewing’ electronics unit.

 

Optical Viewing

In surface analysis, it is extremely helpful to view the sample optically to assist in navigation and to determine the correct location for subsequent analysis. Kore has developed a viewing system with the following capabilities:

  • Zoom from ~3mm to ~400µm field of view.
  • High lateral optical resolution at high magnification (<5µm).
  • A long working distance of 175 mm ideally suited to ultra­ high­ vacuum chambers where it is not possible to locate a camera near to the sample.
  • Mounting onto a 70mm OD CF window.
  • A colour camera mounted on the microscope.
  • Dedicated colour monitor display.
  • Cold, dichroic halogen illuminator mounted on a 70mm OD CF window.
  • Power supplies for the illuminator and camera

 

Sample Handling

X, Y, Z High Stability Stage. The stage has motions of ~ ±10mm in X and Y and 2mm in Z. There is a concept of an optimum z height at which all the beams are confocal. The sample surface is brought to this position. If the sample is relatively thick >1mm, then there are two possibilities:

 

  • The sample can be ‘back-mounted’, meaning that the sample is located behind a mask that is at the correct height. The maximum thickness of sample that can be mounted in this way is ~5mm (5 high x 8 wide x 20mm)
  • The sample is ‘top-mounted’ onto a sample holder with a cutaway of 1mm (deeper on request). For top-mounted thicker samples, it is possible to use the z height adjustment of the stage to lower the sample holder so that the sample surface is positioned at the correct height.

 

Samples are pumped down within 2-10 minutes in a small volume load lock and are then entered into the analytical chamber (via a manual gate valve) with a simple forward motion and 90° twist action of a magnetically coupled sample introduction rod. Porous or ‘wet’ samples can take longer to pump down.

 

Delayed Extraction

The instrument also employs a technique known as ‘delayed extraction’ for the secondary ions produced. In this technique the primary ions bombard the surface and produce the analytically important secondary ions. A short time after the primary beam pulse has finished bombarding the sample, the ion extraction field is pulsed on. This results not only in secondary ion extraction, but also secondary ion compression as the ions travel through the analyser to the detector. In some TOF-SIMS instruments the primary beam is compressed or ‘bunched’, but in this instrument it is the secondary ions that are bunched. This delayed extraction is set so that the secondary ions of the same m/z are temporally focused to produce better mass resolution than would otherwise be obtained with the long primary pulse (60ns) on its own.

 

Charge Neutralisation

One of the advantages of using a pulsing ion beam/delayed extraction combination is that there are relatively long periods in each TOF cycle when there is no ion extraction field applied. In that period a pulse of low energy electrons (30eV) is directed at the analytical area. By doing this it is possible to neutralise the effect of positive charge that would otherwise build up on the surface as the primary ion beam bombards an insulating sample.

 

TOF Analyser

The instrument has a 150mm diameter reflectron analyser, with a total effective flight-length (including the flight tube) of 2 metres. It is a dual-slope reflectron with in-vacuo high precision resistors, and has an adjustable ‘retard’ potential within the reflectron that has been set for optimum spectral performance.

 

Vacuum Pumping

Vacuum pump controllers are integrated into the main instrument frame. Two ion pumps maintain vacuum in the analytical chamber and LMIG source. A turbomolecular pump is used for the sample load lock, backed by a 2-stage rotary pump. Load lock venting and pumping is achieved with a single manual button. A high vacuum gauge (inverted magnetron) monitors the pressure in the analytical chamber at all times, and is used to provide vacuum interlock protection, shutting down high voltages if the pressure rises beyond a set point.

 

Static SIMS Library

The instrument will be provided with the Surface Spectra Static SIMS Library. This software has a mass spectral library of more than 1900 spectra covering data more than 1000 different material.

 

The software also has peak searching tools to allow the analyst to input mass peaks and search the library to identify unknown compounds and materials.

High surface sensitivity 1x109 atoms/cm2 (ppm)
Conducting and insulating surfaces
Positive and Negative SIMS
Mass resolution>3000 m/δm (FWHM) using time-of-flight Reflectron mass analyser
Mass range >1000m/z
Mass accuracy ± 5 milli amu
Analytical spatial resolution≤0.5µm
Elemental and molecular information
Separates common organics from elements
Isotopic analysis
Sputter cleaning capability
5 minute sample pump down from atmosphere
1 minute analysis
Affordable
Expandable
Data libraries available
Depth Profiling with a second ion source

The LMIG is not suitable for eroding craters, therefore, in order to perform SIMS depth profiling, we use a second ion gun dedicated to sputtering.

 

By having a second, dedicated ion gun, we can also vary the energy of the sputtering ion beam. For instance, for shallow depth profiles of a few hundred nanometers, it will be appropriate to use perhaps 1keV impact energy, whereas for deeper profiles 2-3keV will be appropriate.

 

This is rather similar to XPS and Auger depth profiling in that the analytical phase and the sputtering phase are separated. The technique works by repeatedly looping through the following steps:

  • Analysis is performed in pulsed beam mode using the analytical gun for x seconds in a small area, where x is a user-definable time, to acquire data with significant statistics (experiment dependent).
  • Analysis is stopped.
  • The sputtering beam is turned on and rastered over a larger area. The sample is sputtered in continuous beam mode for y seconds to remove material, where y is a user-definable time, depending upon current and raster size.
  • The sputtering gun is turned off, ready for the next repeat of step 1.

 

Data points in the depth profile are plotted at the end of each analytical ‘phase’. A limited set of species is declared at the time of the ‘live’ acquisition, but after the run has finished the data may be replayed, and any combination of species may be re-plotted. This is made possible because information about every recorded ion is stored to disk, as the ion detection in a TOF-SIMS is ‘parallel’.

 

Oxygen Leak (Oxygen Jet)

Positive secondary ion emission is greatly enhanced when the sample surface has a native oxide. If the experiment involves a high enough ion dose to strip away the native oxide, there is a dramatic fall in signal. A well-known solution, used in dedicated depth profiling SIMS instruments, is to use an oxygen primary ion beam, which results in an oxygen-rich ‘altered layer’ and enhanced signal. It is also the case that a large percentage of that enhancement is achieved through oxygen co-implantation, achieved by jetting oxygen gas onto the sample surface whilst using an alternative primary beam species such as Ga+ or Ar+.

 

Accordingly, we offer an oxygen leak option in which a precision leak valve supplies oxygen down a capillary line close to the sample to ‘jet’ oxygen to the sample surface.

Application Areas

Applications for the imaging version of the Surface Seer are similar to the ‘S’ model, but now the imaging facility extends the analysis to samples with heterogeneity on the micrometer scale:

  • Surface chemistry
  • Microstructural surfaces
  • Patterned devices (semiconductors etc)
  • Failure analysis at micrometer scale
  • Powders
  • Fibres
  • Multilayer films
  • Adhesion
  • Delamination
  • Printability
  • Surface modification
  • Plasma treatment
  • Surface contamination
  • Trace analysis (ppm in surfaces)
  • Catalysis
  • Isotopic analysis

 

 

Application Notes
SurfaceSeerI 2
SurfaceSeer I 3
Pricing and ordering

Kore Technology is a centre of excellence in time-of-flight mass spectrometer technology and has a very strong R&D capability in terms of its personnel, all of whom have been heavily involved in a variety of analytical instrumentation development programmes.

 

If you have any questions please feel free to contact us via our online form or telephone us for more information, we offer a wide range of products and services to suit your requirements.

 

If you wish to purchase our products, please contact Kore sales at sales@kore.co.uk, or call +44 (0)1353 653030.

contact us
kore-technology-building